Nominees for the 10th Annual CCE Awards

This year will mark the 10th Anniversary of the awards and we aim for them to be bigger and better than ever! While the CCE Awards typically occur in May, due to recent global health concerns we have rescheduled the ceremony to Friday October 2, 2020. 

Congratulations to our nominees! We look forward to celebrating with you at the 10th Annual CCE Awards on October 2, 2020 at the Delta Hotel in Toronto. Tickets for the ceremony will be available in early fall.

Isabelle Malenfant, CCE

The Procession

Joycelyn Poon & Brian Karn

The Most Magnificent Thing

Kevin Pavlovic, David Ian Salter, Ellery VanDooyeweert & Emma DuPell

The Addams Family

Lesley Mackay Hunter

Arctic Dogs

Orion McCaw, Gina Pacheco & Michael Hillmer

Carmen Sandiego: The Daisho Caper

Carole Larsen

She Walks With Apes

Cathy Gulkin, CCE & Kathryn Lyons

Margaret Atwood: A Word after a Word after a Word is Power

Danny Palmer

Rat Park

Eamonn O’Connor & Daniel Roher

Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band

Nick Hector, CCE


Clark Masters & Chelsea Bennett

White Space

Kyle Sanderson


Rachel Guergis

This Ink Runs Deep

Robert Swartz, CCE

The Impossible Swim

Sonia Godding Togobo

Mr. Jane and Finch

Cameron Nixdorf

Vacations of the Brave: Tamika &Cleve

Dave McMahon

Hip Hop Evolution: Pass the Mic

Peter Denes

Children of the Snow: The Darkest Winter

Ben Kaplan & Clark Masters

Dark Side of the Ring: The Last of the Von Erichs

Steve Taylor

Hip Hop Evolution: The Dirty South

Daniel Sadler

Northern Rescue: Making Lemonade

Lauren Brandon

Holly Hobbie: A Whole New Holly

Lee-ann Cass

Christmas Chalet

Michelle Szemberg

 Northern Rescue: Qué Sera

Sabrina Pitre

Kim Possible

Myriam Verreault & Sophie Leblond


Carina Baccanale & Cedric Coussy

Jouliks Isabelle

Malenfant, CCE


Véronique Barbe, CCE & Aisling Chin-Yee

The Rest of Us

Yvann Thibaudeau

Target Number One

Andrew Gurney

Blown Away: Dual Intent

Andrew Gurney, Mike Scott & Michael Tersigni, CCE

The Brigade: Race to the Hudson, All or Nothing

Jonathan Dowler, David Yenovkian, Lisa Barley, Olivia Shin & Michael Tersigni, CCE

The Amazing Race Canada: Clamageddon Continues

Michael Tersigni, CCE & Andrew Gurney

The Brigade: Race to the Hudon, Against the Current

Mike Scott

Blown Away: Body Parts

Aren Hansen

Kims Convenience: Cutie Pie

Christopher Minns

Cavendish: House of Wax

John Nicholls, CCE

Little Dog: Round Eight

Jonathan Eagan

Workin’ Moms: Birth Daze

Matthieu Bouchard & Olivier Binette

Like-Moi: Episode 35

Ana Yavari

The Handmaid’s Tale: Witness

Carina Baccanale

Les Pays d’en haut: #37

Christopher Donaldson, CCE

The Handmaid’s Tale: Night

D. Gillian Truster, CCE

Anne with an E: A Strong Effort of the Spirit of Good

Wendy Hallam Martin, CCE

The Handmaid’s Tale: Mayday

James Ilecic, CCE

The College Admissions Scandal

Lara Mazur, CCE

The Knight Before Christmas

Matthew Anas

Cardinal: By The Time You Read This: Sam

Richard Rotter


Stephen Roque

Mary Kills People: Wolf, Meet Henhouse

Amélie Labrèche

Jaeborn by Numbers

Mahi Rahgozar

Wiisgaapte (Bitter Smoke)

Maureen Grant

It’s Nothing

Pauline Decroix

Ma Dame au Camélia

Yvann Thibaudeau


Ben Lawrence

Tokens: Episode 3

Colin Waugh

Renewable: Youth for Climate

Micah Rix-Hayes

The Ninth: The Balk

Sam Thomson & Thom Smalley

Save Me Season 2: Birdie’s End

Thom Smalley & Sam Thomson

Save Me Season 2: Animal

The CCE is pleased to announce the recipient of the:

Lara Mazur, CCE

The CCE will proudly present this honour to Lara at the 10th annual CCE Awards, at the Delta Hotel in Toronto on October 2nd, 2020. Lara Mazur is an award-winning Canadian film and television editor. Lara approaches the craft of editing as a collaborative effort, weaving artistry and performance into the fabric of the story. She began her career as an apprentice editor with the National Film Board of Canada in Winnipeg, and, for over three decades, has moved seamlessly between documentary and scripted stories. 

Lara has collaborated with some of Canada’s top directors and producers, bringing stories with universal themes to audiences around the world on shows such as: Chris Haddock’s “DaVinci’s Inquest” and “Intelligence”; “Strange Empire” and “Arctic Air”; Norma Bailey’s “Daughters of the Country”, “Bordertown Café” and “The Pastor’s Wife”; “No One Would Tell” and “Van Helsing” – all receiving award nominations for editing. On the television series “Flashpoint, Lara received a DGC Award and a Gemini nomination. On Anne Wheeler’s feature film “Suddenly Naked”, she received a Genie award, and three nominations for editing on Rachel Talaley’s television movie “On the Farm.” 

In recognition of her body of work, Lara received an award from Women in Film and Television. Lara continues to mentor many emerging filmmakers and give valued advice to many seasoned storytellers. 

Currently, Lara is editing a movie for Netflix.

Fred Brennan

The CCE is pleased to announce the recipient of the Career Achievement Award for 2020 — Fred Brennan. This award is presented to a non-editor who has shown great support for Canadian editors and the editorial profession over the course of their career. 

The CCE will proudly present this honour to Fred at the 10th annual CCE Awards, at the Delta Hotel in Toronto on October 2nd, 2020. In a career that has spanned over forty years, Fred Brennan has become one of Canada’s preeminent dialogue and supervising sound editors. He has worked on many Canadian feature films, major international co-productions and hundreds of hours television. His many awards include Genies and Geminis, recognition by The Director’s Guild of Canada and the Motion Picture Sound Editor’s Guild in Los Angeles. 

Some of Freds credits include Littlest Hobo, American Psycho, Call Me Fitz, Barney’s Version and Pompeii.


stay connected

Subscribe to our mailing list to
receive updates, news and offers

Skip to content